BISD Names District Teachers of the Year

BISD Names District Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/13/2019
This is the image for the news article titled BISD Names District Teachers of the Year

The 2019-2020 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year were named during the annual BISD Employee Recognition Dinner event on May 8, 2019. Congratulations Elementary Teacher of the Year Sarah Brown, 4th grade teacher from Velasco Elementary School and Secondary Teacher of the Year Stephanye Gibson, Geometry teacher from Brazosport High School.

Teachers of the Year

Ms. Brown has taught in BISD for four years, serving as a 4th Grade English Language Arts and Reading teacher. She began her time in BISD teaching at Jane Long Elementary, helping the campus earn three State Distinctions before its closure in 2016. Brown has continued her teaching career as an ELAR model classroom teacher at Velasco, being named a Model Classroom Teacher. Brown states that, “My mission as an educator is to ensure that my students feel safe, successful, and loved.”

Ms. Gibson, in her eighth year of teaching and third year at Brazosport, has been a mentor teacher, served one year as the Varsity Assistant Softball Coach, was chosen as the district's spotlight teacher of the week in 2017, is the current Mathematics Department Chair, the Campus UIL Academic Coordinator and serves on the CEIC. Stephanye believes that, “Education is not just about the material we are employed to teach our students, it is about preparing our students, especially in high school, for the challenges they will face in the world when they leave the walls of our schools.”

Brown and Gibson will represent Brazosport ISD this summer in the Houston area’s 2019-2020 Region IV Education Service Center Teacher of the Year Competition. They will also be honored at a REgion IV dinner in August.

BISD Campus Teachers of the Year:

Lily Acuna
Jenna Andrews
Sarah Brown
Lacie Fletcher
Krystal Kaspar
Shane Leftely
Erin Matthews
Jessica Ochoa
Liz Royer
Amy Scott
Emily Williams
Kristen Center
Leilani Culpepper
Stephanye  Gibson
Chelsie Morrow
Stacy Neiswander
Alice Sokoloski
LaShaye Thompson
Jennifer Wells
Freeport Elementary
Madge Griffith Elementary
Velasco Elementary
S. F. Austin STEM Academy
T.W. Ogg Elementary
Lighthouse Learning Center
O. M. Roberts Elementary
Gladys Polk Elementary
Elisabet Ney Elementary
A. P. Beutel Elementary
Bess Brannen Elementary
Brazos Success Academy
Lake Jackson Intermediate
Brazosport High School
Clute Intermediate
Brazoswood High School
R. O. Lanier Middle School
Freeport Intermediate
Grady Rasco Middle School 

Elementary Campus Teachers of the Year

Secondary Campus Teachers of the Year
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.