School Board Recognition Month - January 2020

School Board Recognition Month - January 2020
Posted on 01/06/2020
This is the image for the news article titled School Board Recognition Month - January 2020

January 2020 is School Board Recognition Month and Brazosport ISD will join other districts across the state as they honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for public education. With the guidance of our Board of Trustees, BISD is launching the next generation of leaders because from here anything is possible!

Serving on a local school board is no easy task, particularly in today’s climate of rapid change and financial uncertainties. These men and women are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for our public schools. They tackle a difficult job and shoulder enormous responsibilities. Overall, they represent you and take their leadership roles seriously by attending lengthy meetings; broadening their knowledge at conferences and seminars; and talking about the schools with business leaders, parents, and neighbors.

Too often we neglect to recognize the dedication of these local citizens who work without pay. So each year the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) encourages communities to show appreciation to these individuals for their unfailing commitment to the success of all students. 

“BISD staff and students applaud our board members for their commitment to serve our great district,” said Danny Massey, Brazosport ISD superintendent. “Our children benefit every day from the hard work and long hours contributed by our outstanding Board of Trustees.”

Board members serve as a crucial link between the community and classroom. Please take a moment to tell school board members thank you for caring about our children and giving so much to our community. Let them know you support them and that their dedicated service is recognized and truly appreciated.
BISD is grateful for our out-of-this-world Board of Trustees!


Board of Trustees

  • Mason Howard, Board President
  • Scott Schwertner, Board Vice President
  • Jerry Adkins, Board Secretary
  • Joe Rinehart, Board Assistant Secretary
  • Patty Sayes, Board Member
  • Liz Cuellar, Board Member
  • Chris Dunn, Board Member

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.