Spring Forward for Daylight Saving Time

Spring Forward for Daylight Saving Time
Posted on 03/08/2021
This is the image for the news article titled Spring Forward for Daylight Saving TimeDon’t forget to spring forward for Daylight Saving Time (DST) this Sunday! Make sure to move your clocks one hour ahead before you go to bed Saturday night so when you wake up you will be on time.  

“Spring Forward...Fall Back” is how the old saying goes…

Sunday, March 14, 2021 - Daylight Saving Time begins at 2 am. Set clocks ahead one hour.
Sunday, November 7, 2022 - Daylight Saving Time ends at 2 am. Set clocks back one hour.

It is "Daylight Saving Time" (singular), not "Daylight Savings Time" (plural).

Beginning in 2007, Daylight Saving Time in the United States was set to begin on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

1784 - The idea of daylight saving is first conceived by Benjamin Franklin.
1914-1918 - Britain goes on DST during World War I.
March 19, 1918 - The Standard Time Act establishes time zones and daylight saving. Daylight saving is repealed in 1919, but continues to be recognized in certain areas of the United States.
1945-1966 - There is no federal law regarding Daylight Saving Time.
1966 - The Uniform Time Act of 1966 establishes the system of uniform Daylight Saving Time throughout the United States. The dates are the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. States can exempt themselves from participation.
1974-1975 - Congress extends DST in order to save energy during the energy crisis.
1986-2006 - Daylight Saving Time begins on the first Sunday in April and ends on the last Sunday in October.
August 8, 2005 - President George W. Bush signs the Energy Policy Act of 2005 into law. Part of the act will extend Daylight Saving Time starting in 2007, from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.
2007 - Under the new laws, all of Indiana now observes Daylight Saving Time, where only certain areas of the state did before.

Exceptions in the United States:
In the United States, Hawaii and most of Arizona do not follow DST.
The US territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and American Samoa also do not observe DST.

What countries follow Daylight Saving Time?

About 70 countries around the world observe DST.
Many countries near the equator do not adjust their clocks for daylight saving.
Neither China nor Japan observe DST.
Some countries refer to "Daylight Saving Time" as "Summer Time."
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.